lunch/dinner

mini-post: what I had for dinner

I rarely cook at home anymore; cooking for one doesn’t inspire me much but the real reason is that I hate to do the dishes.  Without a dishwasher, I dread the tower of pots, pans and utensils that pile up (because I like to make a mess when I cook).   So it was with surprise that I recently rooted around in my kitchen and slapped together some kind of meal for one – which actually ended up being rather delicious.  I had made a rustic pasta sauce by dumping a pint of grape tomatoes into sizzling olive oil and garlic.  I added a few tablespoons of jarred spaghetti sauce as a binder while it cooked down and finished with a ton of fresh basil.  Meanwhile, I toasted rounds of bread in the oven and poached a couple of eggs.  When the eggs were done, I buttered the bread, placed the egg on top, ladled over the garlicky sauce and sprinkled with fresh Gruyère, and placed it under the broiler for a few seconds for a good melt. The results may not be pretty, but the acid from the tomatoes, crisp of the toast, and richness of the egg yolk combined with creamy cheese and basil goodness was splendid. Eggs à la Cocoa?

Leave a Reply

