lunch/dinner

what i had for dinner: pates aux cepes

Now that I have a kitchen that I can actually use (and a dishwasher to take over that dreaded task) I have no more excuses. So to break it in, I prepared an inaugural meal while familiarizing myself with this new space. Note to self: electric ranges are terrible. Here, Pâtes aux Cêpes: fresh pasta, porcini mushrooms and crème fraîche. It turned out OK, although I think I burned the porcini (oops, broiler is a little crazy and now I know that my smoke detectors work!) and I substituted sour cream. I would add a bit more garlic and thyme for my own tastes next time. Also, I already tend to under-salt things but now I’m pretty sure I am afflicted with the family curse of forgetting to add salt to the dish at all (hi Ma!) – wish there were an appliance I could blame that on…

Leave a comment